Our Back Story
Hotel deLuxe began as the Hotel Mallory, commissioned in 1912 by Rufus Mallory. Even then it was a luxurious retreat: the Crystal Room (now the Screening Room) was a ballroom featuring Grand Piano and orchestra pit. In its previous life, the Green Room was a billiard room furnished with a pool table, crystal decanters of spirits and fine cigars. Across the lobby, ladies could socialize privately in the Lady’s Parlor, which is now the Editing Room.
The Mallory Hotel’s last major remodel was in the late 1940s, and was done in a Regency style, complete with imported European crystal chandeliers. In the mid-1950s, when Oregonians voted to allow liquor sales in bars, the iconic Driftwood Room was added.
The Mallory was purchased in early 2004 by Provenance Hotels and reopened in 2006 after an extensive renovation designed to honor the legacy of the Mallory and channel the Golden Age of Hollywood.
The name Hotel deLuxe was inspired by the Hollywood color lab, Deluxe, that brought brilliant color to the silver screen. Hotel deLuxe continues to serve as an elegant and luxurious retreat, with lavish events held at Gracie’s and in-the-know regulars flocking to the Driftwood Room for our legendary cocktails.